h1

I Want to Be Tom Peters When I Grow Up

October 17, 2006

I’m a regular reader of Tom Peters’ blog, although his tendency to write in a stream of consciousness style often makes me skip over large chunks of his posts.

Of course, it’s easy to see why he writes this way–he’s constantly traveling, and blogs from the road in most cases. Just this past week you’ll find he’s been in Copenhagen and Istanbul.

At this point in my life, with small children that I like to see (when they’re being good), I can’t imagine traveling the way Peters does, but I like the idea of doing so at a later point. Of course traveling in general can be interesting, but somehow the appeal of traveling different places with a purpose, such as Peters has when he speaks before worldwide audiences, seems even more appealing to me.

Peters often questions on his blog why a 64-year-old man is doing all this traveling, but it’s obvious from his writing that he does it because he gets a kick out of it. And that’s a pretty good reason to do anything.

Leave a Reply

