h1

StumbleUpon Messing with My WordPress

November 21, 2006

I’ve been reading about StumbleUpon here and there, so I finally decided to give it a try. If you don’t know, you download a StumbleUpon toolbar and StumbleUpon shows you sites that are rated particularly highly by its member community for the topic areas that you’re interested in. You can also rate a thumbs up to the ones that you like by pressing a button on the toolbar.

It works really well in terms of showing you cool sites. There were only a few clunkers while I was using it, and I planned to use it again.

The problem is, I noticed the last couple days that when I was using WordPress, I was having a very hard time getting things to work correctly when I was doing cutting and pasting of URLs and such for my Bessed topic entries. For example, I would copy a URL so I could hyperlink it, but when I got back to WordPress and tried to paste, that option would be unavailable to me. Or I would go into the HTML option in WordPress to move some stuff around, and the option to “cut” would be a no-go. It was annoying as all hell, and I finally figured out that the problem had started when I downloaded the StumbleUpon toolbar. So I uninstalled it. Problem solved, everything worked fine again.

I don’t know if it was affecting the cut and paste in any other software like Word or anything, because I never checked. But it was messing with my WordPress for sure.

I’m using Firefox so I don’t know if this happens in any other browsers, but I thought I’d throw it out there to help anyone else that might come across this problem, and maybe to help StumbleUpon diagnose it, too. They have a neat service, but I won’t be using it now.

e-mail me: adam@bessed.com

Adam Jusko is founder and CEO of Bessed, a Web site promising “search without spam”, thanks to human-edited search results and ongoing visitor feedback. Do a search, offer your comments, submit your site–help create the “bessed” search site in the world.

Leave a Reply

