h1

GoodStorm’s MeCommerce

January 29, 2007

In thinking about the business model for Bessed, I’ve been considering alternative revenue sources in addition to advertising. One of the things I’ve been thinking about is teaming with retailers and doing the affiliate-type situation in which ads are placed and you’re only paid if a click-through results in a direct sale. I’m not a fan of doing this, but the strict ad model is somewhat difficult, so I’ve been thinking that if a partnership presented itself that would result in a decent enough cut of sales, it could be worthwhile.

I read today on TechCrunch about GoodStorm’s new service which is actually not relevant to us, but the post did lead to a mention of their earlier announced service MeCommerce.

To some extent MeCommerce is just like those Amazon ads you see left and right on content sites, but the promise is that you would get paid a greater percentage of the sale—half of the profit on each item, although I don’t know exactly what the profit itself is in order to figure that. Regardless, I’m assuming it would be a better % than Amazon.

In addition, MeCommerce is supposed to let visitors buy an item without leaving your site, which is neat.

So I signed up today to test it out and see if it might be worth exploring.

I couldn’t get anything to work. It told me that I could zero in on keywords that would then produce products suited to those keywords, but when I put in the keywords, it told me there were no results. Even for the keywords that they themselves suggested as possibilities, I got no results. I was using Firefox—is it maybe an IE product only?

All I know is, it didn’t inspire confidence. I would want the revenue share, but also greater reliability. Maybe someone from GoodStorm will see this and give me a heads-up on what I was doing wrong. For now, though, it doesn’t seem to be an option.

e-mail me: adam@bessed.com

Adam Jusko is founder and CEO of Bessed, a Web site promising “search without spam”, thanks to human-edited search results and ongoing visitor feedback. Do a search, offer your comments, submit your site–help create the “bessed” search site in the world.

Leave a Reply

