h1

Scaling Versus Scoring

September 6, 2007

Jason Calacanis has a very interesting new post up that talks about the tension between building out infrastructure to scale a business and introducing features that make people want to use your product/service in the first place.  Calacanis discusses it as the CEO wanting to announce cool new stuff while the CTO is not sure the infrastructure can handle the crush of people wanting to use the new feature—he uses Twitter as a possible example.

But I think this could be a post about the tension in general when you run a business—how much you promise vs. what you can deliver right now.  On the tech side, the question is whether your software/hardware will hold up.  But think about very non-techie businesses and a similar theme emerges. For example, a small ad agency pitches a big client, gets the work and quickly realizes it doesn’t have enough people to do the job.  In addition to the problem of finding the people,  there will be the issue of paying them, as the new project might promise mounds of money in the future, but will completely drain cash flow today. From the outside you see an agency that just landed a big client and is going places. From the inside you see an agency that might go broke before it ever gets the work done that would catapult it to a higher level of success.

It’s sort of the classic entrepreneurial bootstrap story—overpromise and then stress out on how to deliver. If you deliver, you get the rewards. If you don’t deliver, you’ve disappointed users/clients, and you might destroy your reputation before you even have one.

One thing I’ve always enjoyed about being my own boss is that I no longer feel that dread on Sunday night that I have to work the next day.  I think the entrepreneurial tension is something that drives you to want to work, because it’s an exciting challenge, even if it’s more stress than might be healthy.

e-mail me: adam@bessed.com

Adam Jusko is founder and CEO of Bessed, a Web site promising “search without spam”, thanks to human-edited search results and ongoing visitor feedback. Do a search, offer your comments, submit your site–help create the “bessed” search site in the world.

10 comments

  1. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it
    yourself? Either way keep up the excellent
    quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one nowadays.


  2. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you writing this article
    and also the rest of the website is also really good.


  3. Fantastic site. Lots of helpful info here. I am sending it
    to some buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you to your effort!


  4. Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog platform
    are you using for this website? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers
    and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.


  5. This is a topic which is near to my heart… Take care! Where are your
    contact details though?


  6. Link exchange is nothing else but it is simply placing the other person’s web site link on your
    page at appropriate place and other person will also do same in
    favor of you.


  7. Hello I am so delighted I found your weblog, I really found you by accident,
    while I was researching on Google for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a fantastic post and a all
    round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have book-marked
    it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be
    back to read much more, Please do keep up the excellent work.


  8. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you
    knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have
    some experience with something like this. Please let me
    know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to
    your new updates.


  9. Fantastic goods from you, man. I have be aware your stuff prior to and you are just too wonderful.
    I really like what you’ve acquired right here, certainly
    like what you are stating and the way in which during which you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you continue to care for to stay it
    wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. That is really a terrific website.


  10. I’m impressed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both educative and engaging, and without a doubt, you’ve hit
    the nail on the head. The problem is something that too few people are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy that I found this during my hunt
    for something regarding this.



Leave a Reply

