h1

I Call B.S.: Jetrosexuals

December 19, 2006

The Fast Company blog has a “report” on so-called jetrosexuals who travel worldwide in search of fashion bargains, for example hopping cheap flights to Asia to get cheap knockoffs made of high-end brand fashions, then quickly hopping back on a plane home.

The blog post calls this a trend yet offers not one example of an actual person that does this.  I don’t believe this is a trend at all.

Almost every other reference I can find to the term jetrosexual is associated with a Virgin Airways promotional campaign that defines jetrosexuals loosely by a set of “commandments” that define them as savvy world travelers.  Hopping off a plan to buy a cheap Marc Jacobs suit is not mentioned anywhere in association with this.

I call B.S. on Fast Company. Am I right?

e-mail me: adam@bessed.com

Adam Jusko is founder and CEO of Bessed, a Web site promising “search without spam”, thanks to human-edited search results and ongoing visitor feedback. Do a search, offer your comments, submit your site–help create the “bessed” search site in the world.

Leave a comment